Release Blitz: THE SUMMER THAT MADE US  by Robin Carr

Everyone has a summer  they’ll never forget…



Praise for #1 New York Times Bestselling Author Robyn Carr:


“Capturing the best of small-town romance.”

— The Washington Post


“Appealing characters and a fresh and hearttugging twist to a familiar conflict, coupled with what-did-she-just-say? dialogue and a cozy sense of community, all help make this latest installment in the Virgin River series a true romantic getaway.”                     USA TODAY


“Robyn Carr delivers yet another fictional win that will speak to the soul of every feminist reader.”                 — Coastal Living


“Carr sets the bar for contemporary romance.”

— Booklist Starred Review


“Carr continues her brilliant communitybuilding as a number of storytelling threads come together in a rich narrative tapestry.”

Kirkus Reviews






Robyn Carr Ÿ On sale: September 2017


#1 New York Times and USA TODAY bestselling author Robyn Carr is back with THE SUMMER THAT MADE US, a powerful multi-generational story about mothers and daughters, sisters and cousins, and the ties that bind us together forever. Everyone has a summer they’ll never forget, and for the women of the Hempstead family, this has never been more viscerally true.

For Louise and Jo Hempstead—sisters who married brothers and each had three daughters— summers at Lake Waseka were the happiest of times, filled with days of boating, swimming races, and the sound of children laughing. For years, the lake was the place where the women and their daughters loved each other the most. But when an unthinkable tragedy strikes in the form of an accidental drowning, the family closes up the lake house for good, never to return.

Now, more than 25 years later, Louise’s daughter Meg is sick with cancer and enlists her sister, Charlene, to reopen the lake house and gather the family for one last summer at the lake. But years of pain and unspoken grief have pulled the Hempstead women in different directions, away from each other: Meg might be dying; Charlene is unexpectedly jobless; Hope is reckoning with the break-down of her marriage; Krista has just returned from a long prison sentence; Beverly is still traumatized by the drowning; and Louise and Jo haven’t been close in years.

But blood is thicker than water, and Charlene hopes that time and family might be able to heal even the deepest wounds. In this beautifully woven story about the complexities of family dynamics and female relationships, return to the lake with the Hempstead girls for a season of healing, second chances, and finally making peace with the past.




“Carr’s gift for writing lovably flawed heroes and heroines is evident on every page.”

Publishers Weekly

“A layered, well-paced plot and flawed, three-dimensional characters whom readers will care about make this a quick and entertaining read for those who relish contemporary family sagas with strong female characters.”

Library Journal on The Life She Wants

“Robyn Carr writes with heart and soul in her latest contemporary…. Readers will laugh and cry along with the four friends and sigh over the good men that come into their lives. A satisfying, sweet and sexy read.”          — BookPage on A Summer in Sonoma


Robyn Carr is a master of the small-town romance.”          — New York Journal of Books


“Understanding what women do and say and want is something Carr has considered hard over her long career…. [She] taps into female emotions over and over in her books.”                        The Miami Herald

The Life She Wants is packed with emotions and a raw intensity…. [Robyn Carr] never disappoints.”    — San Francisco Book Review on The Life She Wants

“A delightful read in a new series that has the distinct possibility to be as equally good as her fan favorite Virgin River and Thunder Point series.”

RT Book Reviews on What We Find





Robyn Carr is an award-winning, #1 New York Times bestselling author of more than 50 novels, including the critically acclaimed Virgin River and Thunder Point series, as well as highly praised women’s fiction titles such as Four Friends, What We Find, and The Life She Wants.


Robyn has won a RITA Award from the Romance Writers of America, and in 2016 she was awarded RWA’s Nora Roberts Lifetime Achievement Award for her contributions to the genre. Her novels have been translated into 19 languages in 30 countries.


Originally from Minnesota, Robyn now resides in Henderson, Nevada, with her aviator husband; they have two grown children. When she isn’t writing, Robyn puts her energy into community service: she has mentored a seniors’ memoir-writing group, attends book club chats in and out of state whenever possible, and is working with her local library on the Carr Chat Series, a program centered on fundraising and visiting author events that bring writers, their books, and the community together.



On Sale: September 5, 2017

Amazon Kindle:

Universal link:



$26.99 U.S. / $29.99 CAN.

ISBN-13: 978-0778331049

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.