Release Blitz: BEAUTIFUL EXILES by Meg Waite Clayton

The riveting, untold story of Martha Gelhorn, the woman who loved Ernest Hemingway—and who was his equal in every way

 

From New York Times bestselling author Meg Waite Clayton comes a tantalizing, beautifully observed novel about one of the most volatile, electrifying relationships of the 20th Century

 

BEAUTIFUL EXILES

by Meg Waite Clayton

On Sale August 1, 2018

 

Amazon https://amzn.to/2M8JhY4

Following on the success of her Langum Prize-honored The Race for Paris and The Wednesday Sisters, one of Entertainment Weekly’s top best friend novels of all time, New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Meg Waite Clayton has written a tantalizing, beautifully observed page-turner about one of the most volatile, electrifying relationships of the 20th century, the romance between Martha Gellhorn and Ernest Hemingway.

 

BEAUTIFUL EXILES (Lake Union Publishing; on sale August 1, 2018) opens in Key West, 1936. Headstrong, accomplished journalist Martha Gellhorn is confident with words but less so with men when she meets disheveled literary titan Ernest Hemingway in a dive bar. Their friendship—forged over writing, talk, and family dinners—flourishes into something undeniable in Madrid while they’re covering the Spanish Civil War.

 

Martha reveres him. The very married Hemingway is taken with Martha—her beauty, her ambition, and her fearless spirit. And as Hemingway tells her, the most powerful love stories are

always set against the fury of war. The risks are so much greater. They’re made for each other.

 

With their romance unfolding as they travel the globe, Martha establishes herself as one of the world’s foremost war correspondents, and Hemingway begins the novel that will win him the Nobel Prize for Literature. BEAUTIFUL EXILES is a stirring story of lovers and rivals, of the breathless attraction to power and fame, and of one woman—ahead of her time—claiming her own identity from the wreckage of love.

 

Clayton captures the voice, tenacity, and strength of one of the greatest female writers of the last century, while simultaneously examining one of the biggest names in literature. Through extensive research and creativity, Clayton beautifully weaves together the stories of these two literary icons, and creates a strong female lead whose story is still recognizable and inspiring to women a century later: one of maintaining independence, professional rigor, and self-worth without sabotaging the relationship she’s so convinced she wants.

. . . . . . . .

 

 

Meg Waite Clayton is the New York Times and USA

Today bestselling author of five novels, including the Langum-Prize honored The Race for Paris and

PEN/Bellwether Prize finalist The Language of Light.

Entertainment Weekly named her novel The Wednesday Sisters one of “25 Essential Best Friend Novels” of all time. Clayton has written for the Los Angeles Times, The New York Times, The Washington Post, The San

Francisco Chronicle, San Jose Mercury News, Writer’s Digest, Runner’s World, and public radio. A graduate of the University Michigan and its law school, she now lives

in California. Find her at: http://www.megwaiteclayton.com; facebook.com/novelistmeg; @megwclayton.

. . . . . . . .

 

BEAUTIFUL EXILES by Meg Waite Clayton

Lake Union Publishing | August 1, 2018

Hardcover: $24.95 | ISBN: 978-1503900837

eBook: $3.99 | ASIN: B076CJWG7N                            

Praise for Meg Waite Clayton

The Race for Paris

“Well researched and rich with vivid descriptions of wartime France, Clayton skillfully keeps the focus on the characters’ ambitions and personal dilemmas…Many novelists have written about World War II, but Meg Waite Clayton brings a new perspective not only to the war but to the risks endured by journalists and photographers.”

—Ann Weisgarber, writing for the David J. Langum, Sr. Prize for American Historical Fiction

“Ambitious, riveting…Deftly weaving fact and fiction, Clayton captures the texture and cadence of daily life in a world that is anything but ordinary.”

—Christina Baker Kline, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Orphan Train

“I devoured The Race for Paris…Those who enjoyed The Nightingale will want to give this one a look for another perspective on women during the war!”

—Carol Fitzgerald, Bookreporter

“Smart, engrossing, and ultimately heartbreaking…I loved this book.”

—Sara Gruen, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Water for Elephants

“The Race for Paris is an action-packed tale of courage, friendship, and love…Gather your book club and prepare for an intense conversation, as these characters will haunt you long after you turn the final page!”

—Pamela Klinger-Horn, Excelsior Bay Books, from the Indie Next Great Reads List The Language of Light

The Language of Light shines on, a wonderfully knowing action photograph that has emerged from the darkroom as words.”

—James Bready, The Baltimore Sun

“Clayton has an old-fashioned sense of narrative and symbolism … will delight readers searching for a story with meaning, character and drama.”

—Bethanne Kelly Patrick, BookReporter.com

“Clayton has a gift for making her prose and her characters…captivating…As the story develops, The

Language of Light raises enough perplexing questions to keep book clubs talking late into the evening.”

—Cindy Conger, Lincoln Journal Star

“Richly atmospheric, gorgeously written, and filled with characters so real they breathe on the page.”

— Caroline Leavitt, author of Coming Back to Me

 

The Wednesday Sisters

“Readers will be swept up by this moving novel about female friendship and enthralled by the recounting

of a pivotal year in American history as seen through these young women’s eyes.”

—Booklist

“Meg Waite Clayton’s stirring novel will appeal not just to those who secretly wish to be writers, but to anyone with a love of great books; anyone who has felt truly moved by a book or an author; and anyone who has had their dreams bolstered by good and faithful friends.”

—Bronwyn Miller, BookReporter

“This generous and inventive book is a delight to read, an evocation of the power of friendship to sustain, encourage, and embolden us.”

—Karen Joy Fowler, author of The Jane Austen Book Club

The Wednesday Daughters

“Every layer of the novel delivers. Utterly rich and satisfying.”

—Paula McLain, New York Times bestselling author of The Paris Wife

“Fans of The Wednesday Sisters will relish this new work, which intersperses captivating journal entries within its chapters and easily deserves to stand on its own.”

—Margie Scott Tucker in Publisher’s Weekly’s “Galley Talk”

“With delicate, precise strokes, Meg Waite Clayton illustrates and explores the intricate effect of the secrets we keep, even from those we love.”

—Melanie Benjamin, New York Times bestselling author of The Aviator’s Wife

The Four Ms. Bradwells

“Fans of Elizabeth Noble, Ann Hood, Elin Hilderbrand, and other luminaries of female friendship fiction will find much to captivate them.”

—Library Journal

“A stirring and compelling novel about women’s changing roles.”

—Aleksandra Walker, Booklist

“A Must Read … This is not just a story about a group of women, but also a story about generations, about relationships, about the fluid motion of relationships over lifetimes.

—Bonnie Jean Adams, The Chicago Examiner

 

Beautiful ExilesBeautiful Exiles by Meg Waite Clayton

Going into this I had no idea who Martha Gellhorn was.
Now, I know. She was the woman who in the early 1930’s had
an affair with Ernest Hemingway. Him I’ve heard of!
The author did her job providing numerous details about the
couple, locations, wartime and family.
Martha or the many nicknames Ernest called her was an extraordinary
woman, novelist, war correspondent, best friend and Hemingway’s muse.
Not my usual read but it held my attention until midway through
then I closed the book and didn’t return.
Not the authors fault, I just couldn’t connect.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.